DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths | School Menus
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : sports : sports
November 23, 2017

11/10/2017 9:57:00 AM
Maroons 15th, HP's Bogard 27th at XC state
Sports Editor

Neither the weather nor the results were to the liking of local participants at the IHSA Class 1A Cross Country State Finals Saturday (Nov. 4).

Cold and wet conditions were a factor during the boys' race at Detweiller Park in Peoria, which saw a short-handed Robinson High School's boys' team finish 15th out of 25 teams and Hutsonville-Palestine's Negus Bogard just miss out on all-state recognition with a 27th-place finish.

Robinson, who was missing one of their top four runners - Kobe Lorance - due to injury and had another - Lukas Baird - slowed because of a sprained ankle, finished in the middle of the pack with 353 points. Elmwood won the team title with 150 points, followed by Rockford Christian (164), Elgin Harvest Christian Academy (170), Monticello (194) and Deer Creek-Mackinaw (197) in the top five.

"The kids we had ran great," RHS head coach Tony Cork said. "They all ran hard and I sure can't fault their effort. I was pleased with how the kids handled everything."

Baird was the top finisher for RHS in 72nd out of 210 runners with a time of 16:08, while Wyatt Bonnell was 76th with a time of 16:13. Maverick Wright wasn't too far behind in 84th with a time of 16:17, while also scoring were Koty Amdahl in 123rd (16:51) and Zach Buttolph in 157th (17:16).

"Our three through five runners all had their career-best times and Wyatt and Lukas were really close. Zach ran a career-best by 15 seconds after having a career-best last week at Carlinville."

As for Bogard, he finished just two places and three seconds shy of earning all-state honors. Bogard came in 27th with a time of 15:33, while the last all-state placer - Elgin Harvest Christian Academy's Andrew Dobrescu - finished 25th in 15:30.

"Negus ran an incredible race Saturday," HHS-PHS head coach Caleb Will said. "He gave it his all, ran his race, looked very comfortable and finished strong. The state meet is very impressive with an outrageous number of fast long-distance runners. Negus showed nerves up to the race start, then he focused and had a personal record on a big stage. I am very proud of him and the team's accomplishments throughout the season."

Individual champion was Wyatt McIntyre of Athens with a time of 14:25.

2017 IHSA Class 1A Boys State Cross Country Finals

At Detweiller Park, Peoria

Team scores - Elmwood 150, Rockford Christian 164, Elgin Harvest Christian Academy 170, Monticello 194, Deer Creek-Mackinaw 197, St. Joseph-Ogden 204, Athens 218, Urbana University High 274, Freeburg 282, Chillicothe Illinois Valley Central 318, Clifton Central 322, Sterling Newman Central Catholic 338, El Paso-Gridley 340, Carlinville 352, Robinson 353, Breese Mater Dei 369, Seneca 389, Lawrenceville-Red Hill 433, Pinckneyville 442, Paxton-Buckley-Loda 456, Elmhurst Timothy Christian 462, Benton 478, Columbia 511, Herscher 512, Marengo 519.

Top 25 individuals (All-State) - 1. Wyatt McIntyre (Athens) 14:25. 2. Logan Hall (Arthur-Lovington-Atwood-Hammond) 14:30; 3. Jack McNabola (Chicago F.W. Parker) 14:41; 4. Alex Helmuth (Monticello) 15:02; 5. Riley Wells (Rockford Christian) 15:05; 6. Justin Mumford (Trenton-Wesclin) 15:06; 7. Charlie Parrish (Freeburg) 15:08; 8. Jacob Bryan (Carthage Illini West) 15:08; 9. Luke Goebel (Breese Mater Dei) 15:09; 10. Christophe Collett (Seneca) 15:12; 11. Garrett Dixon (Monticello) 15:12; 12. Jackson Stewart (Decatur St. Teresa) 15:16; 13. Tim Bertulis (Johnsburg) 15:17; 14. Owen Habeger (Chillicothe Illinois Valley Central) 15:17; 15. Dawson Smith (Rock Falls) 15:17; 16. Trey Houmes (Hoopeston Area) 15:19; 17. Cooper Hoffmann (Elmwood) 15:21; 18. Eli Ten Eyck (Pittsfield) 15:22; 19. Brandon Schnitker (Nashville) 15:23; 20. Leland Sumner (Tremont) 15:23; 21. Wyatt Wolfersberger (St. Joseph-Ogden) 15:23; 22. Spencer Mauch (Sterling Newman Central Catholic) 15:24; 23. Trevor Dunkel (Elmwood) 15:25; 24. Ryan Skowronski (Shelbyville) 15:28; 25. Andrew Dobrescu (Elgin Harvest Christian Academy) 15:30.

RHS results - 72(43). Lukas Baird 16:08; 76(46). Wyatt Bonnell 16:13; 84(52). Maverick Wright 16:17; 123(90). Koty Amdahl 16:51; 157(122). Zach Buttolph 17:16; 180(145). Parker Middleton 17:40; 207(172). Carter Shew 18:53.

HHS-PHS results - 27. Negus Bogard 15:33.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

ExtrasRobinson Living
Site Design and Content Copyright 2017 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved