DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths | School Menus
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : sports : sports
October 22, 2017

10/12/2017 8:49:00 AM
Local golfers unable to advance at IHSA Class 1A Girls Golf Sectional
Sports Editor

Golf season came to an end for three local girls at the IHSA Class 1A Alton Sectional Monday (Oct. 9).

None of Crawford County's entrants in the field at Spencer T. Olin Golf Course shot well enough to advance to this weekend's state finals.

It was a long day at the course, as fog delayed the start of the tournament, then slow play followed, resulting in many players being on the course for around seven hours.

The best round of the day from a Crawford County golfer was from Oblong's Nyah Laino, who shot a 104. Her teammate, Katelyn Leggitt, came in with a 120, while Robinson's Maddie Byrley finished with a 110.

Those scores were well off the pace of the group that qualified for the state meet, as the highest score to advance was an 87.

Meet medalist was Massac County's Millie Lawson, who carded a 75.

Massac County also won the team title with a score of 336, while also advancing were Nashville and Effingham St. Anthony with scores of 352 and 358, respectively.

2017 IHSA Class 1A Girls Golf Sectional

At Spencer T. Olin Golf Course, Alton

Team scores - Massac County 336, Nashville 352, Effingham St. Anthony 358.

Top 10 individuals - 1. Millie Lawson (Massac County) 75; 2. Megan Breslin (Pinckneyville) 77; 3. Kylee Vaughan (Hamilton County) 79; 4. Brooke Bartling (Nashville) 82; 4. Rachael Kell (Nashville) 82; 6. Josie Sykes (Carbondale) 83; 7. Macy Ludwig (Effingham St. Anthony) 85; 7. Sarah Breslin (Pinckneyville) 85; 7. Avery Rea (Carterville) 85; 10. Abbi Burgess (Effingham) 86; 10. Ellie Kane (Alton Marquette) 86.

Advancing individuals (from non-qualifying teams) - Megan Breslin (Pinckneyville) 77; Kylee Vaughan (Hamilton County) 79; Josie Sykes (Carbondale) 83; Sarah Breslin (Pinckneyville) 85; Avery Rea (Carterville) 85; Abbi Burgess (Effingham) 86; Ellie Kane (Alton Marquette) 86; Hannah Gahagan (Murphysboro) 87; Bailey Sharpmack (Roxana) 87.

Local results

Oblong - Nyah Laino 104, Katelyn Leggitt 120.

Robinson - Maddie Byrley 110.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

ExtrasRobinson Living
Site Design and Content Copyright 2017 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved