DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : sports : sports July 24, 2016

10/11/2012 10:43:00 AM
RHS XC boys 2nd, girls 4th at LIC meet
Sports Editor

The inaugural Little Illini Conference Cross Country Meet went about as well as could be expected for Robinson High School's cross country teams.

Robinson had four runners earn All-LIC status by finishing in the top-10 in their respective races, while the Maroons placed second as a team and the Lady Maroons finished fourth in the team standings.

In the boys' meet, Robinson totaled 47 points, but finished just behind champion Olney, who came in with 44 points. Lawrenceville finished third with 71, followed by Cumberland (112), Marshall (112) and Newton (121).

Robinson's Blake Hale was the individual champion, as he finished first with a time of 14:12.91, more than 35 seconds ahead of the next closest finisher.

"Blake set the course record, which is the same course they have been running for at least 25 years," RHS head coach Tony Cork said. "He ran well and said he felt the best he has in a while."

Cole Fiscus also earned all-conference honors by finishing sixth overall in the 54-runner field with a time of 15:47.47. Also scoring for RHS were Noah Tennison in 12th in 16:21.92, J.B. Chapman in 13th with a time of 16:29.15 and Wes Wright in 15th in 16:32.07, while Henry Treadway was 20th in 17:01.35.

"That was the fewest number of guys I've ever had run in a meet, but they all ran well," Cork said. "They all ran faster than they did there earlier in the year. Cole (Fiscus) ran a terrific race. That was definitely his best race of the year. For the kids we've got, I am really pleased with what they are doing."

Others earning All-LIC honors were Marshall's Ben Scamihorn (2nd 14:48.15), Cumberland's Tye Sutherland (3rd 15:11.77), Olney's Nick Dobbs (4th 15:25.68), Connor Schonert (5th 15:29.09) and Dalyan Brach (8th 15:56.37), Lawrenceville's Conner Holmes (7th 15:53.69) and Zach Kocher (10th 16:01.88) and Newton's Corey Davidson (15:59.69).

Oblong's Tyler Jenkins posted a personal-best time of 17:40.81 on his way to a 26th-place finish.

In the girls' meet, Robinson came in with 80 points, which put them in the middle of the field. Marshall won the meet with 66 points, followed by Newton and Olney with 70 apiece. Cumberland was fifth with 94 and Lawrenceville sixth with 98.

Mickey Shook led Robinson with her fifth-place finish in 18:30.26, while Alyssa Keeler also earned All-LIC honors by finishing 10th in the field of 41 runners with a time of 19:22.95. Lauren Erickson also scored for the Lady Maroons with her 16th-place effort in 19:48.93, as did Kirstyn Bowen by finishing 20th in 20:19.39 and Jamie Murphy by finishing 30th in 21:27.23.

"The girls are getting better and you can't ask them to do any more than that," Cork said. "Alyssa ran her best race of the year by far."

Also running for RHS were Kendra Buchanan (38th 24:58.32), Mykaela Thomas (39th 25:39.47) and Connor York (41st 27:50.84).

Other All-LIC performers included Cumberland's Leah Hutchison (1st 17:32.56), Marshall's Maisie Lay (2nd 17:46.26) and Teresa Gorrell (7th 18:51.10), Newton's Lexie Davidson (3rd 17:57.16) and Carly Niebrugge (4th 18:04.25), Olney's Aaron Bromm (6th 18:43.59) and Kylar Craig (8th 18:52.47) and Lawrenceville's Andie Scherer (9th 18:54.61).

Robinson will compete at the Peoria Invitational Saturday at 1 p.m.

"We will really see where we are at Saturday," Cork said. "There is plenty of competition and you get to see the state course. It is a good experience for them."

2012 Little Illini Conference

Cross Country Meet

At Sam Parr State Park, Newton


Team scores - Olney 44, Robinson 47, Lawrenceville 71, Cumberland 112, Marshall 112, Newton 121, Oblong NS.

Top 10 individuals (All-Conference)

- 1. Blake Hale (Robinson) 14:12.91; 2. Ben Scamihorn (Marshall) 14:48.15; 3. Tye Sutherland (Cumberland) 15:11.77; 4. Nick Dobbs (Olney) 15:25.68; 5. Connor Schonert (Olney) 15:29.09; 6. Cole Fiscus (Robinson) 15:47.47; 7. Conner Holmes (Lawrenceville) 15:53.69; 8. Dalyan Brach (Olney) 15:56.37; 9. Corey Davidson (Newton) 15:59.69; 10. Zach Kocher (Lawrenceville) 16:01.88.

RHS results - 1. Blake Hale 14:12.91; 6. Cole Fiscus 15:47.47; 12. Noah Tennison 16:21.92; 13. J.B. Chapman 16:29.12; 15. Wes Wright 16:32.07; 20. Henry Treadway 17:01.35.

OHS results - 26. Tyler Jenkins 17:40.81.


Team scores - Marshall 66, Newton 70, Olney 70, Robinson 80, Cumberland 94, Lawrenceville 98.

Top 10 individuals (All-Conference)

- 1. Leah Hutchison (Cumberland) 17:32.56; 2. Maisie Lay (Marshall) 17:46.26; 3. Lexie Davidson (Newton) 17:57.16; 4. Carly Niebrugge (Newton) 18:04.25; 5. Mickey Shook (Robinson) 18:30.26; 6. Aaron Bromm (Olney) 18:43.59; 7. Teresa Gorrell (Marshall) 18:51.10; 8. Kylar Craig (Olney) 18:52.47; 9. Andie Scherer (Lawrenceville) 18:54.61; 10. Alyssa Keeler (Robinson) 19:22.95.

RHS results - 5. Mickey Shook 18:30.26; 10. Alyssa Keeler 19:22.95; 16. Lauren Erickson 19:48.93; 20. Kirstyn Bowen 20:19.39; 30. Jamie Murphy 21:27.23; 38. Kendra Buchanan 24:58.32; 39. Mykaela Thomas 25:39.47; 41. Connor York 27:50.84.

Next meet - Robinson will compete at the Peoria Invitational Saturday at 1 p.m.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

ExtrasRobinson Living
Site Design and Content Copyright 2016 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved