DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths | School Menus
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : sports : sports May 24, 2016

9/27/2012 11:01:00 AM
RHS golfers 2nd, Pal-Hut 10th at LIC meet
Sports Editor

An expanded field produced a tight battle between two newcomers at this year's Little Illini Conference Golf Tournament at Oak Glen Golf Course in Stoy Monday.

Two of the LIC's three newest members battled it out for the top slot Monday, but in the end, Olney was able to come out on top, edging Robinson by five strokes to claim the tournament championship.

Olney won with a score of 324, while Robinson was runner-up at 329. Casey-Westfield finished third with a 337, followed by Lawrenceville (366), Newton (374), Flora (380), Marshall (392), Cumberland (421), Red Hill (427) and Palestine-Hutsonville (493).

Robinson had three golfers finish in the top-10 overall to earn All-LIC First Team honors, led by Tom Goodman and Tristen Murphy, who tied for fourth place with eight-over-par rounds of 79 apiece on the par-71 course. The pair posted nearly identical scores, as each shot 40 on the front nine and 39 on the back.

Also receiving first team all-conference honors was James Gibson, who tied for eighth overall with a score of 85. He posted a 41 on the front nine, then shot 44 on the back. Alex Brown also scored for RHS with an 86 (41-45), while scores of 88 (44-44) by Tyler Wright and 91 (43-48) by Zach Beard did not count toward the team total. Brown and Wright's scores were good enough to be named to the five-player, All-LIC Second Team.

Meanwhile, Palestine-Hutsonville was led by Jordan Boyer and Bailey Weger, who each shot 119. Boyer had a 57 on the front nine and 62 on the back, while Weger shot 58 on the front and 61 on the back. Also scoring for the Pioneers was Cody Boyer with a 123 (60-63), while Drew Halter (68-64) and Blaze Elder (66-66) tied for the final scoring slot with rounds of 132 apiece. The 143 (73-70) by Michael Hamlin was not added to the team score.

Oblong also had two golfers compete in the meet, but did not have enough for a team score. Gage Kidwell shot a 117 (61-56) for OHS, while Haze Lemmon posted a 120 (67-53).

Individual medalist for the meet was Casey-Westfield's Chris Lee with a three-over-par round of 74. Others earning All-LIC First Team honors were Olney's Dylan Taylor (76), Joshua Haussy (77) and Colin O'Neal (82), Casey-Westfield's Keygen Decker (80) and Flora's Blake Gocey (85) and John Casolari (85). Also on the Second Team were Lawrenceville's Jeffrey Baxter with an 86, Newton's Phil Blank with an 87 and Casey-Westfield's Brandon Glidewell with an 87.

In the girls' meet, Oblong was the only school to field a full team in the meet, which featured just 13 golfers.

The Lady Panthers posted a team score of 509, led by Erin Leggitt with a 113 (56-57), which earned her All-LIC honors. Also for OHS, Bailey Johnson shot a 124 (64-60), Taylor Hamilton had a 131 (66-65) and Sydney Allen had a 141 (69-72).

Medalist in the girls' meet was Red Hill's Morgan Tewell, who carded a round of 12-over-par 83. Also earning All-LIC honors were Cumberland's Lindsay Knight with a 101 and Flora's Ginger Williams with a 102. Second Team members were Marshall's Leighanne Hildebrand with a 116 and Cumberland's Mara McCollough with a 119.

2012 Little Illini Conference

Golf Tournament

At Oak Glen Golf Course, Stoy


Team scores - Olney 324, Robinson 329, Casey-Westfield 337, Lawrenceville 366, Newton 374, Flora 380, Marshall 392, Cumberland 421, Red Hill 427, Palestine-Hutsonville 493, Oblong NS.

Medalist - Chris Lee (Casey-Westfield) 74.

Top 10 individuals - (All-LIC performers) 1. Chris Lee (Casey-Westfield) 74; 2. Dylan Taylor (Olney) 76; 3. Joshua Haussy (Olney) 77; 4. Tristen Murphy (Robinson) 79; 4. Tom Goodman (Robinson) 79; 6. Keygen Decker (Casey-Westfield) 80; 7. Colin O'Neal (Olney) 82; 8. James Gibson (Robinson) 85; 8. Blake Gocey (Flora) 85; 8. John Casolari (Flora) 85.

Robinson (329) - Alex Brown 41-45-86; Tom Goodman 40-39-79; Tristen Murphy 40-39-79; James Gibson 41-44-85; Tyler Wright 44-44-88; Zach Beard 43-48-91.

Olney (324) - Joshua Haussy 39-38-77; Dylan Taylor 40-36-76; Colin O'Neal 43-39-82; Michael DeVenecia 43-46-89; Blake Berry 61-54-115; Chloe Buerster 50-44-94.

Casey-Westfield (337) - Chris Lee 38-36-74; Brandon Glidewell 44-43-87; Keygen Decker 42-38-80; Nat Davidson 50-48-98; Brandon Wolfe 52-44-96; Kaleb Repp 58-60-118.

Lawrenceville (366) - Scott Beard 45-46-91; Hoa Bobe 48-43-91; Lane Vories 57-50-107; Jeffrey Baxter 43-43-86; Jevyn Collins 49-50-99; Austin DeLoriea 48-50-98.

Newton (374) - Phil Blank 44-43-87; Evan Brooks 48-45-93; Elijah Knepper 56-49-105; Brandon Bigard 57-47-104; Chris Brody 44-49-93; Anthony Feusting 49-52-101.

Flora (380) - Blake Gocey 41-44-85; Zach Allison 50-54-104; Robert Casolari 58-48-106; John Casolari 42-43-85; Dylan Woodrow 59-66-125.

Marshall (382) - Wade Kibler 49-43-92; John Sisson 50-43-93; Kiefer Treece 60-50-110; Kyle Sandefer 53-52-105; Dylan Wilson 56-46-102; Colan Miller 52-60-112.

Cumberland (421) - Trevor Brumleve 56-49-105; Austin Light 57-57-114; Caleb Brumleve 52-52-104; T.J. Thomas 54-52-106; Dawson Cross 55-51-106; Patrick Utter 55-56-111.

Red Hill (427) - Zach Breault 45-45-90; Austin Hawkins 58-56-114; Trey Aguirre 57-55-112; Andrew Buchanan 58-53-111; Matthew Paddick 65-66-131; Jacob Tabler 62-64-126.

Palestine-Hutsonville (493) - Jordan Boyer 57-62-119; Cody Boyer 60-63-123; Drew Halter 68-64-132; Blaze Elder 66-66-132; Bailey Weger 58-61-119; Michael Hamlin 73-70-143.

Oblong - Gage Kidwell 61-56-117; Haze Lemmon 67-53-120.


Medalist - Morgan Tewell (Red Hill) 83.

Oblong (509) - Erin Leggitt 57-56-113; Taylor Hamilton 66-65-131; Sydney Allen 69-72-141; Bailey Johnson 64-60-124.

Casey-Westfield - Makenna Graham 72-72-144.

Cumberland - Lindsay Knight 48-53-101; Mara McCollough 62-57-119.

Flora - Ginger Williams 52-50-102; Keah Tanner 63-57-120.

Marshall - Leighanne Hildebrand 56-60-116; Mackenzie Switzer 67-64-131.

Red Hill - Morgan Tewell 44-39-83; Taylor Heath 65-60-125.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

ExtrasRobinson Living
Site Design and Content Copyright 2016 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved