DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths | School Menus | Closings and Delays
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

Daily News Online Poll

Should the Crawford Memorial Hospital board allow Carle Richland Memorial Hospital to station an ambulance at CMH?

Please select one:

View Results

home : local news : local news
November 20, 2018

11/8/2018 11:30:00 AM
While challengers fall, board will still look different
Election 2018: County board
The Crawford County Board remains a completely Republican - and male - governing body.

Efforts by two Democrat women in District 3 fell short in Tuesday's general election. Still, the board membership will be different when the county's new fiscal year begins Dec. 1.

Olga Abella faced off against GOP candidate Jonathon Goff for a four-year term, while Jenny Buckley-Coulter vied against Kevin Dart for a two-year term.

Goff won by a vote of 1,078 to 289, or almost 78.9 percent. Dart won his race 1,058 to 312, garnering more than 77.2 percent of the ballots cast.

The only contested races were between candidates who did not run in the primary.

Two Republican incumbents, Gareld Bilyew in District 3 and Terry McCoy in District 4 opted not to seek re-election.

The board lost two other GOP incumbents in July when Steve Rich resigned because of health issues and Kevin Utterback died. Rich previously announced he would not seek re-election in District 5 this year. Utterback was in the second year of his first term representing District 3.

These departures left the field open to newcomers, two of whom are already serving on the board.

Don Goupil was appointed to fill the vacancy created by Rich's resignation. He was already running unopposed as a Republican for the seat. He garnered 1,048 votes Tuesday.

The District 3 situation was a bit more complicated. No one ran for Bilyew's seat in the primary, so the Republicans selected Goff to run in the general election while the Democrats picked Abella.

Then, following Utterback's death, Goff was appointed to fill that vacancy while continuing to run for Bilyew's seat.

Republicans selected Dart to run for the remaining two years on Utterback's term and the Democrats picked Buckley-Coulter to run against him.

Meanwhile, several candidates ran unopposed.

These included incumbents Clint Williamson and Kevin Morrison in District 1. Williamson, who received 1,149 votes, ran for a full four-year term while Morrison sought a two-year term. He received 1,142 ballots.

Morrison was appointed to the board in 2016 after John Daughtery was elected but opted not to serve. By defeating challenger Jeffrey Besing in the primary, he earned the right to run for the remaining two years on what would have been Daugherty's term.

Another Republican incumbent, Kip Randolph, won another term in District 2 and GOP newcomer Koert Bartman ran without opposition in District 4. A total of 1,264 ballots were cast for Randolph and 1,300 were cast for Bartman.

Tuesday's victors join incumbents David Fulling, Jim Keller and George Bohman on the board.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

Site Design and Content Copyright 2018 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2018 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved