DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : local news : local news May 26, 2016

2/27/2014 1:29:00 PM
Science, math teams win regionals
The Robinson High School Math and Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering teams recently brought home regional championships.

The Math Team won the ICTM Division 2 Regional Math Contest Saturday at Eastern Illinois University in Charleston, while the WYSE Team placed first in the regional competition at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology in Terre Haute.

In the math competition, the freshman Algebra I team of Dylan Dirks, David Jenkins, Jace Logan, Grant Oxford, Alexis Sullivan and Katelyn Thomas placed second, while Oxford and Jenkins tied for second place based on their individual scores.

The senior Precalculus team of Michael Akande, Matt Buercklin, Kila Gray, Jessie Quick, Joe Riggs and Amy Watts won their team competition. Buercklin had the highest individual score and Riggs had the second highest.

The junior/senior eight-person team of Watts, Buercklin, Quick, Connor Griffin, Collin Rains, Jake Blunier and Mara Decker also won their competition. Buercklin, Riggs, Decker, Jenkins and Abbie Blunier won the Calculator team competition.

Griffin and Rains placed second place in the oral competition, and Gray and Quick tied for second in the junior/senior two-person competition.

Other members of the team are Mark Harbison, Stephanie Hawkins, James Hillard, Lucas Roth, Connor Weber, Noah Tennison and Slater Martin. The math team is coached by Cynthia Schrey, Tory Potts and David Forbes.

The WYSE Team placed first in engineering graphics, math and physics. Individually, Griffin received a first placed medal in engineering graphics and second in chemistry, while Sam Cunningham placed first in engineering graphics.

Also: Gray placed first in mathematics, Cole Fiscus was first in physics, Kasey Meeks placed third in chemistry and Quick finished third in physics.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

ExtrasRobinson Living
Site Design and Content Copyright 2016 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved