It will be illegal to use a handset while driving in Illinois on Jan. 1.
Crawford County Sheriff Todd Liston said deputies will begin issuing citations for violators of the law once it goes into effect.
The bill was signed into law on Aug. 16.
"Distracted driving is not only dangerous - it's deadly. Too many Illinois families have suffered because of accidents that could have been prevented. Anyone driving a car should be careful, responsive and alert behind the wheel," Gov. Pat Quinn said in a press release after he signed the bill.
The bill allows the use of a phone by headsets, hands-free systems or voice operated commands. It also includes a clause that a driver can use a single button push to start or end a call.
"The only exemptions from this law apply to law enforcement officers or first responders, drivers reporting emergencies, and drivers using electronic devices while parked on the shoulder of a roadway," the Illinois State Police said in a press release.
Illinois becomes one of 12 states to ban handheld phone use. It adds on the existing ban of texting while driving.
Tickets are considered a traffic violation. The fines are a maximum of $75 for the first offense, $100 for a second offense, $125 for a third offense, and $150 per additional violation.